PDA

View Full Version : Can you recommend a OLL?

Yeemix
08-09-2006, 9:58 PM
Hello everyone, I've been lurking and searching this forum and I've picked up so much knowledge it's amazing. The reason why I'm posting is for opinions. Can you recommend me an OLL? I've found various manufacturers, Vulcan, Fab 10, etc...but I would like your personal opinions. Pros and cons of your own oll?

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to building a rifle, so I would like a compete lower, just to ease the project. Short of simple field stripping of my Glock, that's about the extent of my armory skills.

So is it as simple as this?

1. Order my complete lower, have it sent to an FFL
2. Order my upper, I'm interested in an M4 style, 16" barrel
3. Put them together.
4. Buy tons of ammo

Thanks again to everyone, this website has been a great resource for people like me.

grammaton76
08-09-2006, 10:15 PM
Yes, however you've listed the two brands you should stay away from in your post. :)

Vulcan - bad quality control
Fab-10 - more or less perma-gimped so it can never be a free-state rifle if you leave CA or whatnot.

The rest are all good brands. I'm personally a fan of CMMG and Mega the most, though.

xenophobe
08-09-2006, 10:16 PM
Yes, anything but a vulcan or fab-10. The prettiest logo/rollmarks or what fits budget... That's what you should concentrate on.

Charliegone
08-09-2006, 10:23 PM
Get the one that started it all...Stag.:D Thats if you like the deer head.

Ryan HBC
08-09-2006, 10:28 PM
If you are still considering Vulcan and FAB10 as your front runners, you have more reading to do!

I think Stag is the best CA bang for the buck. A nice CMT cut lower with a nice finish. They seem to be plentiful in California, and always had for under $100 + fees.