PDA

View Full Version : Private party C&R sales in CA question.

wintersborn
01-01-2011, 2:43 PM
Hello I am new to Calguns but it seems to be a great site and I am in need of some information.

I hand picked a couple of 1941 Mosins from Big 5 in the last year but they are too heavy and kick to hard for my GF so I am going to sell them.

What do I need to do to legally sell them as a private party to another private party ? I would assume I would need to verify the purchasers age and ID and make a recept but I am not sure about anything else.

If some one could please list the legal way to sell a C&R as a private party that would be great.

Thanks.

EBR Works
01-01-2011, 2:47 PM
C&R rifles of greater than 50 years of age can be sold without transfer through a dealer. Like you said, verify age and ID plus it would be a good idea to get a signed statement from the purchaser that they are not prohibited from firearms ownership.

Oh, and welcome to Calguns.

wintersborn
01-01-2011, 3:11 PM
Thank you.

So I would need a statement of facts on the recipt about not being prohibited to own a firearm. Do I need to document the SN# of the guns ?

After the sale do I send a copy to the DOJ or something like a release of liabillity with the DMV ?

paul0660
01-01-2011, 3:18 PM
I document the sale with a receipt including the serial number, and a separate statement of eligibility from the purchaser. You don't have to file anything.

Also, these transactions don't have to be face to face. It can be done without meeting the purchaser, and the rifle sent through the mail or UPS.

wintersborn
01-01-2011, 4:07 PM
If you sell them not face to face how do you verify their ID ?
Will a photo copy of their DL be legal ?

Thanks again for the info, just making sure its done right.

Anchors
01-01-2011, 4:13 PM
Hey wintersborn, I sent you a PM.

Cokebottle
01-01-2011, 4:29 PM
Thank you.