PDA

View Full Version : 80's 92f questions, sights and ammo.

Jwind
12-31-2010, 8:02 PM
I finally convinced my dad to take his 80's Beretta 92f out to the range sometime next week. He has only put about 200rds down the barrel since he picked it up way back when. First time I'm shooting it with him, and had a few questions I was hoping the Calgunners could help me out with before I look like a total noob in front of my dad :D

1-The sights are different from my 92fs which came with a 3 dot night sights. His looks different and I'm not 100% sure how to line them up. On the rear, it looks like a half circle in the middle, and up front its a full circle. So to line these type up correctly, do I fill in the rear half dot to make it a full dot by using the front full circle? IE, trying to complete the rear circle since the upper half is missing, by using the front sights as the filler? Hope I made some sense there lol. Pics are attached to help.

2-Also, would it be safe to shoot my FMJ 124gr bullets from the 92f? How about 155gr? I only shoot 124gr from my FS, but since reading up on the slide problem of the older models I am a bit worried.

Rear Sights,
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg96/jnmashimaro/Forums/RearSight.jpg

Front Sights,

http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg96/jnmashimaro/Forums/FrontBlade.jpg

G-forceJunkie
12-31-2010, 8:54 PM
Level the sites across the top, ignore the dots and whatnot. I would shoot anything i could stuff in there, not much commercial is at or near NATO specs.

586L-Frame
12-31-2010, 11:21 PM
Align the bottom of the front sight dot... on top of the rear sight half dot.
then shoot a grouping to determine point of impact and adjust accordingly.

I don't have a 92f but I do own three 92fs's.
Have fun and enjoy shooting your Dad's 92f.

586L-Frame

TrailerparkTrash
12-31-2010, 11:22 PM
The slide thing was not a problem, unless you shot "proof" loads out of the gun, which you can't get.