PDA

View Full Version : Shooting & handling 9mm. M&P handgun

BoJackUSMC
12-31-2010, 8:48 AM
Hey members
I have some knowledge when it comes to M16 to medium size machine guns. Also, some explosive and grenade launchers stuff. However, I have very limited information when it comes to handguns. I was just wondering every time I see professional shooters or those Magpul guys shooting 9mm handguns on their video. I could barely see any hand movements from the recoil. It seems like their 9mm handgun has no recoil whatsoever. I mean I can shoot like that if I were to grip my handgun with full strength and fight the recoil, but I will get tired fast. I mean 9mm recoil is not much at all for me, but I was wanted to know how those pros could shoot like that for long time.
thank you

nn3453
12-31-2010, 8:58 AM
Fighting recoil won't get you fast follow up shots. What needs to happen is that your sights need to repeatably arrive at the same location. If you try to fight the recoil, you will end up pulling your shots. If your stance and grip are correct, you won't have to worry about recoil, especially 9mm recoil. Some muzzle flip is inevitable, the larger the caliber. Absorb it, don't fight it. Your arms should be bent, not stiff.

For example, check out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysa50-plo48

BoJackUSMC
12-31-2010, 9:05 AM
thank you for the tip and video. It just amaze me how Todd hands does not even move from the recoil in this video. No wonder he is one of the best shooter out there.

SAR_boats
12-31-2010, 9:15 AM
I may be wrong, but I believe ISPC shooters use lower power ammo and lighter recoil springs.

RedFord150
12-31-2010, 9:48 AM
Heavier gun also helps. Go to a range and rent a CZ75 and a compact Glock, both in 9mm, at the same time. You will notice the all steel CZ has a lot less muzzle flip than the lightweight compact.