View Full Version : Duck Hunt in Gridley

12-12-2010, 4:36 PM
I am new to Duck Hunting, but am going on a guided hunt this Saturday 12/18. Any hunting reports, does it look like a good weekend for a hunt / lot of shooting opportunities.

12-12-2010, 8:45 PM
Pray for wind.

12-12-2010, 9:39 PM
Pray for rain and wind.

Pray that your guide knows how to call ducks.

Pray that the dog is worth his kibble.

Then do 12 hail marys and get a shot of whiskey at Granzellas the night before you hunt.
Good luck.

12-12-2010, 10:03 PM
Is the sarcasm because it is a tough season.....or is that just duck hunting in general? Is the deck stacked against me going so late in the season?

12-13-2010, 4:09 AM
2nd on the whiskey at Granzella's. You should hit it about right the ducks are here, the wind or the rain would help. Good Luck and enjoy your hunt.

12-13-2010, 6:53 AM
I'm taking my middle boy up to Alturas next Monday to hunt honkers Tues and Wed. I hope we get to hunt in the snow this time.

12-13-2010, 3:55 PM
I live pretty close to Gray Lodge and hear duck hunters shooting every morning about daylight. Go into the Gridley Grill or Black Bear about 11:00am and they're both full of duck hunters. Good luck.

12-13-2010, 6:35 PM
Is the sarcasm because it is a tough season.....or is that just duck hunting in general? Is the deck stacked against me going so late in the season?

Typically later in the season is better. You just really want wind and then if you can get wind and rain it's better.

the worse the weather is = better.

12-13-2010, 6:55 PM
Thanks for the update, we went last year late November, temp was in the high 40s. They told us to come when it is not a full moon and crappy weather, so here we go! I am just glad to know we aren't too late

12-13-2010, 7:49 PM
You're definitely not late. It finally froze up north.