PDA

View Full Version : probably a stupid question regarding the m44

goback
12-09-2010, 10:29 AM
picked up a russian m44 at the local gun show here and was wondering how i can find out any history on it if at all possible. im pretty new to the whole c/r thing so any information would be helpful.

Reductio
12-09-2010, 10:42 AM
Bump around here a bit and/or post pics: :D

http://7.62x54r.net/MosinID/MosinMarks.htm

goback
12-09-2010, 10:49 AM
so it looks like i have a Izhevsk 1944 m44. its been refurbished it has the ukrainian depot mark on the stock and reciever. i got it for 150. good price? ill try to post pics later

Haggar85
12-09-2010, 10:58 AM
so it looks like i have a Izhevsk 1944 m44. its been refurbished it has the ukrainian depot mark on the stock and receiver. i got it for 150. good price? ill try to post pics later

150 is a very good price. they are kind of getting rare these days.

paul0660
12-09-2010, 11:02 AM
Good price. They are supposed to be shot with the bayonet extended. For what to expect, see my avatar.

goback
12-09-2010, 11:20 AM
i was thinking about taking off the bayo all together. i mean if there is no real historic value then i might as well spend a couple hundred on a new stock, and some optics and make it into a sporterized budget hunting rifle

Reductio
12-09-2010, 11:23 AM
Now you done it. :P

If you're going to spend that much money, just get a modern rifle that will shoot well out of the box. I personally don't see the appeal of doing anything more than scope base, but that's just me. M44's are fun guns, take 'em out to the desert and create some fireballs and blow stuff up. They're not MOA type match rifles.

goback
12-09-2010, 11:25 AM
thats what i did last weekend. took it out to 29 palms and had some great fun with it. very accuate at 150. no problems hitting targets at all. that was my other thought considering how increasingly rare these are maybe i should just leave it as is. thanks a lot

goback
12-09-2010, 11:26 AM