PDA

View Full Version : getway labtop video card upgrade


coltn46920
12-08-2010, 7:24 PM
I have http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Gateway+-+Laptop+/+Intel%26%23174%3B+Pentium%26%23174%3B+Processor+/+15.6%22+Display+/+4GB+Memory+/+250GB+Hard+Drive+-+Satin+Black/1380742.p?id=1218254495244&skuId=1380742&st=gateway&cp=1&lp=1
this labtop but this labtop only has 128 video ram and it's integrated intel hd graphics. Can I put a ati mobility in here or is it a no go. My understanding is that most labtops can't upgrade there graphics cards. Can this one or no?

Brianguy
12-08-2010, 11:21 PM
Sorry but that integrated graphics won't come out. I know newer nvidias can be upgraded (NX platform). I dont know about ATI.

I wanted to upgrade my 7600 but I can't use the good new cards :( I did swap out the cpu though :)

JDay
12-09-2010, 2:05 PM
What is a "labtop"?

coltn46920
12-09-2010, 4:43 PM
What is a "labtop"?

lol wow I didn't even notice that.:D

Corbin Dallas
12-09-2010, 5:02 PM
I have http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Gateway+-+Laptop+/+Intel%26%23174%3B+Pentium%26%23174%3B+Processor+/+15.6%22+Display+/+4GB+Memory+/+250GB+Hard+Drive+-+Satin+Black/1380742.p?id=1218254495244&skuId=1380742&st=gateway&cp=1&lp=1
this labtop but this labtop only has 128 video ram and it's integrated intel hd graphics. Can I put a ati mobility in here or is it a no go. My understanding is that most labtops can't upgrade there graphics cards. Can this one or no?


It's called a LAP top because it goes in your LAP. Now, of course, you can take it in the LAB and even use it in the LAB, but it was designed to go on your lap, so they called a it a laptop.


As far as video cards go, no you cannot replace it. Integrated video cards are built into the motherboard and discrete video cards are specific to the machine. So even if the card was a discrete card, you could not upgrade it unless the motherboard was designed to accept it.