PDA

View Full Version : Buying an M1A rifle at Reno Gun Show?

Comstock Lode
07-07-2006, 1:28 PM
I'm planning to be in the Reno/Tahoe area this summer and attending the Reno Gun Show... Looking at buying an M1A. What are the rules around buying a rifle at the Reno Gun Show since I'm a California resident? Will they simply submit the FBI background paperwork right from there and I leave with the gun? Is there a wait period in Nevada? Is a California resident simply a persona non grata based on all of our incomprehensible firearms laws?

I understand an M1A needs to NOT include a flash hider or any other banned features and magazine capacity is limited to 10 before bringing into California.

Josh
07-07-2006, 1:31 PM
You need to get it shipped to an FFL in CA to do the background check and paperwork even if you pay for it in person in NV.

You just need to make sure that theres no flash supressor on it. Mag capacity is dependent on when you acquired the acutal magazine. So if you have any 20rd mags from before 2000 you can use them in you m1a.

Astig Boy
07-07-2006, 2:45 PM
There is no wait period in Nevada. But I wouldnt be surprised if they dont sell you a rifle since you reside in California.

JPglee1
07-07-2006, 2:47 PM
Its illegal to acquire a gun in NV and drive it across state lines.

Really stupid law too since CA doesn't have any rifle registration, no one would know... BUT if you DO get caught its a FELONY and not worth it.

IF you find an M1A in NV that you just have to get, pay for it and have the seller ship it to your local FFL. That way, you know its 100% legal and you don't have to stress out about it.

Taking the "easy" way out usually means the ILLEGAL way out.

JP

mltrading
07-07-2006, 2:53 PM
You need to pay then have the Neveda seller ship the rifle to a CA FFL(01). Then you finish the whole paper work at your CA FFL(01)'s.

It's a good idea to bring a signed copy of your CA FFL01 with you. Of course you need to let your FFL01 know in advance.