PDA

View Full Version : New to rifles type of question (registration)

The SoCal Gunner
07-07-2006, 1:06 PM
Ok, I am totally new to rifles and I was reading up on the DOJ site and came across this.

"Under California law, no rifle or shotgun purchaser information may be retained by the DOJ. The DROS fee only covers the cost to determine whether or not a purchaser is prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm at the time of the transaction. Additionally, once eligibility has been verified, the DOJ is required by law to destroy all DROS information pertaining to long guns. The assault weapon registration period has ended. The DOJ is no longer accepting assault weapon registration forms."

Does this mean that any rifle I purchase will not be registered with the state? If that is the case how do the police determine what belongs to me? and what if I were ever robbed, how do I prove ownership of my rifles?

Another important questions is how do I know the rifle I am purchasing through PPT is not stolen?

blacklisted
07-07-2006, 1:58 PM
Although there is no centralized database that shows what long guns you own, the 4473 form you fill out at the dealer has the serial number on it and is retained. That is how the police find out.

Ok, I am totally new to rifles and I was reading up on the DOJ site and came across this.

"Under California law, no rifle or shotgun purchaser information may be retained by the DOJ. The DROS fee only covers the cost to determine whether or not a purchaser is prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm at the time of the transaction. Additionally, once eligibility has been verified, the DOJ is required by law to destroy all DROS information pertaining to long guns. The assault weapon registration period has ended. The DOJ is no longer accepting assault weapon registration forms."