PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Flash 10


GuyW
12-03-2010, 12:02 PM
Does anyone have a link to a sure-fire troubleshooting process to get Adobe Flash 10 working?

It works on one of my computers, but not the other, and I can't find the difference. I have worked thru the typical uninstall/reboot/reinstall stuff with no success.
.

Lancear15
12-03-2010, 12:06 PM
In what way is in not working exactly?

Your question is like saying... I have one car that works and one that doesn't, I can't tell the difference between them... what's wrong with car #2? hehe

Toubleshooting requires details. The more the better.

GuyW
12-03-2010, 12:26 PM
My problem (which I understand is typical) is that I can't play videos, the dreaded youtube "you have to download Adobe Flash 10", even though I have it installed.

Windows xp sp3
.

Lancear15
12-03-2010, 12:32 PM
What browser are you using?

Install the latest version of Mozilla firefox if you don't have it already.

Lancear15
12-03-2010, 12:34 PM
Go to this page and what does it say for your version of flash?

http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

GuyW
12-03-2010, 1:17 PM
Mmm, says nothing (red x)

but my add/remove programs in control panel shows Adobe Flash 10 installed

Lancear15
12-03-2010, 1:24 PM
Never answered my browser question...

GuyW
12-03-2010, 1:27 PM
IE 8.0

(the computer where Flash 10 works is IE 7.0)

Lancear15
12-03-2010, 1:30 PM
Install latest version of Firefox (http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/personal.html) and try that link again.

You can uninstall it later if you want but this will eliminate browser issues as a possibility if it still doesn't work. BTW IE is total garbage and you should switch to MZ asap IMO

GuyW
12-03-2010, 2:40 PM
OK - youtube plays thru MZ

youtube still won't play on IE
.

MA2
12-04-2010, 7:52 AM
For IE8, go to Tools>Manage Add-ons
Under Macromedia, Inc.
You should see maybe Flash/Shockwave Object.
If you do not see it, its not installed...enable it - if it is disabled.


Yes, agreed for FF. I like it a little better, but nothing wrong with using IE8.
Use FF + this flash blocker add-on...https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/433/ http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/images/icons/icon14.gif

Lancear15
12-04-2010, 1:37 PM
Problem solved. Use Firefox, ditch internet exploder and you're gtg.

And you're welcome!

GuyW
12-05-2010, 12:34 AM
Yes - thank you.
.