PDA

View Full Version : Any 19th C handgun gurus out there?

Bullwinkle
12-01-2010, 3:06 PM
I have a friend (no, seriously, it's not me!) who I've been nagging for over six years to get a gun. He finally did it last weekend. :)

When he first told me about it, we were both pressed for time so he couldn't go into great detail. He said it was "a .38 revolver that looks exactly like something you'd expect to see a cop carrying in the 40's or 50's." I figured he picked up an old S&W. Turns out he was a little inaccurate in his initial description. When I later asked him to give me more details, here is what he replied in his e-mail:It's a Forehand & Wadsworth Topbreak with hammer, Double Action, 5 Round Cylinder, mfd. between 1870-1880 in Worcester, Mass - No serial number - only engraved inscription on top of the barrel is: "IVER JOHNSON'S ARMS & CYCLE WORKS * FITCHBURG, MASS, U.S.A. *". Has the F&W Banner Crescent logo and a patriotic badge symbol & star on both sides of the not-so-badly warn [sic] grip; a nice small pocket revolver.I'm still somewhat in shock over this; he was leaning towards an XD, and ended up with a 100+ year old museum piece instead (I'm still waiting on the full story).

Can anyone tell us something about this revolver? [Sorry, no photos, out of my control for the moment.] Google wasn't very helpful. According to Wiki, though, the .38Spl wasn't introduced until 1902, so what kind of a ".38" is it (Long Colt maybe?)? Can he even get ammo for it anymore or must he take up reloading (not necessarily a bad thing) in order to keep chamber pressures within specs of the era? Any problem areas he should look out for?

Any and all information welcome! :) Thank you!

Rogerbutthead
12-01-2010, 3:20 PM
probably 38 Smith & Wesson

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.38_S%26W

A guy named Old Fuff on the Highroad.org said this about a similar revolver