PDA

View Full Version : Need help, can't load a picture?


GMG
11-29-2010, 2:14 PM
Trying to sell a car part on Ebay. When it gets to the part to down load a picture a screen pops up with something about ActiveX control and security set too high. Runnig XP sp3.

How do I get around this? Just got my puter back from having the registry straightened out and various viruse's removed. I installed Trend Micro.

Thanks in advance for any help.:confused:

paul0660
11-29-2010, 2:32 PM
There is a security setting in your browser that you need to back off a bit. In IE it's in tools/internet options, in firefox tools/options

Cbr1000Rider
11-29-2010, 3:15 PM
Usually you just have to click the active x pop up and click disable.

GMG
11-29-2010, 3:36 PM
There is a security setting in your browser that you need to back off a bit. In IE it's in tools/internet options, in firefox tools/options

Went into tools/internet and lowered the security bar all the way down. Still getting the message - A malfunctioning or malicious add-on has caused I/E to close this page!

I'm not very computer savy if you know what I mean.

GMG
11-29-2010, 3:37 PM
Usually you just have to click the active x pop up and click disable.

Don't remember seeing that pop up.

Rhythm of Life
11-29-2010, 3:39 PM
Instead of loading the image through eBay use a service like TinyPic.com and just use their HTML code.

GMG
11-29-2010, 3:51 PM
Instead of loading the image through eBay use a service like TinyPic.com and just use their HTML code.

I used to be able to do it before the puter went down. I think it's just a setting that has to be changed, but what do I know.

paul0660
11-29-2010, 3:55 PM
http://forums.ebay.com/db1/topic/Ebay-Picture-Hosting/Having-Problems-Uploading/510089612?messageID=512039418

Looks like it happens a lot. Good luck, I have no idea what to do.

JDay
11-29-2010, 4:04 PM
Use Firefox, IE is a security nightmare.

GMG
11-29-2010, 5:47 PM
Use Firefox, IE is a security nightmare.

Other than going to the Firefox page and hitting the download button, what should I be aware of?

JDay
11-29-2010, 7:01 PM
Other than going to the Firefox page and hitting the download button, what should I be aware of?

What would you need to be aware of?

GMG
11-30-2010, 1:57 PM
Use Firefox, IE is a security nightmare.

JDAY you the man!;)

Down loaded Firefox, up loading pics is no longer a problem.

Thanks.

JDay
11-30-2010, 7:18 PM
JDAY you the man!;)

Down loaded Firefox, up loading pics is no longer a problem.

Thanks.

No problem, IE is really only good for sites that require it.