PDA

View Full Version : Registration Period?

Mr.RoDiN
07-04-2006, 7:14 PM
Im not a lawyer. Nor do I know the law that well. So my question is, if they do add new definitions arent they obligated to open up a registration period?

xenophobe
07-04-2006, 7:27 PM
Not if the status of the law and application of it does not change. The proposed regulatory definition they are planning will do nothing to make lowers illegal, nor will they affect rifles that have been built up either gripless, or with a fixed magazine, so no.

AB2728 might cause a court mandated registration period... but only after litigation is filed against the enactment of AB2728 into law...

blkA4alb
07-05-2006, 12:25 AM
The proposed regulatory change might change the status of a rifle from non-AW (fixed mag + pistol grip) to AW (mag is not permanently fixed, therefore able to accept a magazine, and still has the pistol grip). A change of status in this direction (brought on by change in law or regulation) has so far always opened a registration period (the SKS fiasco is not a counter-example). To my knowledge, the DoJ has no means to force people to turn this rifle back into a non-AW by forcing them to remove the pistol grip.

The big question is: where is there a statuatory obligation to open a registration period?
Well, to my knowledge whenever they make something illegal that was formerly legal they have to open a registration period. My rifle is currently legally configured with a fixed magazine and pistol grip. If they change these codes and make my rifle an AW after being currently legal, I don't see how they can get around a registration. Thats my understanding at least. (You never did fire my mossberg at the shoot n q treelogger :p .)

anotherone
07-05-2006, 12:43 AM