PDA

View Full Version : El Rojo's Dope Story (marijuana, dogs, and bears: OH MY!)

tenpercentfirearms
11-20-2010, 8:15 AM
The following is an exciting hunting tale. The year was 2000.

I had just finished my two days off and climbed into my car to travel the 150 miles from Taft in the Southern San Jouaquin Valley up to R.M. Pyles Boys Camp in the newly designated Sierra National Monument. Pyles Camp is an outstanding non-profit program that offers a two week wilderness experience for inner city, at risk youth. I had been working for Pyles for 8 years and it definitely beat the summertime heat of Taft.

Over the break I had heard we had another bear wonder into camp and was becoming a problem. Earlier in the summer we had two bear problems. One of the problems I was able to solve with my paintball gun. We discovered that shooting a bear at close range with a paintball gun acted as a very good deterrent in keeping the bear out of camp as we still hadn’t seen that bear return. The second bear had the misfortune of wondering into camp while the Department of Fish and Game had two agents in camp and he had expired in a tree in the middle of camp at the expense of a 300 grain .45-70 bullet.

Now we had a very large, 350-400 pound black bear wondering through a camp with about 70 care free campers and the bear was definitely a concern. The United States Department of Agriculture has wildlife service agents that travel over the entire length of California that handle health and safety issues dealing with wildlife. Joe was the main agent for the entire southern half of California and he had traveled up to our camp the night before and set a culvert trap in camp. The bear walked to the opening of the trap, ate all of the bait there, then he walked over to Joe’s truck and stood up against it to look inside. The bear went all over camp that night and had even walked through one of the camper cabins, fortunately the campers were out on their backpacking trip.