PDA

View Full Version : Shipping within California a C&R to a non license holder

hk91666
11-19-2010, 7:46 AM
What is thought on legality of shipping a C&R to SoCal from NorCal for a 03FFL licensee to a non licensee? Does it have to transfer through a 01FFL or can Cash and carry work (with sign a form staing receiver can legally own a gun and get CADL info for my book.
Thanks

littlejake
11-19-2010, 7:56 AM
What is thought on legality of shipping a C&R to SoCal from NorCal for a 03FFL licensee to a non licensee? Does it have to transfer through a 01FFL or can Cash and carry work (with sign a form staing receiver can legally own a gun and get CADL info for my book.
Thanks

If we are talking about a 50 year old, or greater, long-gun, then CA PC 12078 (t)(2) permits a transfer without going through a dealer. Most people prefer to conduct such a transfer FTF to get to know the receiving party. I see nothing in the law that prevents shipping -- but, I am not a lawyer.

cmaher55
11-19-2010, 8:26 AM
I don't think you can ship a C&R rifle to a non 03 FFL holder in CA. You can sell a C&R face to face without going through a dealer but through the mail is against the law I am pretty sure. Regards

hk91666
11-19-2010, 8:45 AM
I don't think you can ship a C&R rifle to a non 03 FFL holder in CA. You can sell a C&R face to face without going through a dealer but through the mail is against the law I am pretty sure. Regards

I called DOJ they confirm what you said. To Ship via carrier it must go to ATF licensee (Dealer 01 or 03 Collector). Also confirmed Face to Face was possible. Thanks to both of your responses.

ke6guj
11-19-2010, 8:49 AM
there is no CA law that limits that 12078(t)(2) transfer to FTF transfers. YOu may ship it if you want to.

Same for federal law, since it is an intra-state transfer, there is no requirement that an FFL be involved in the transfer. The 03FFL seller just needs to get the proper info from the buyer to put in his bound book.

ke6guj