PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain Lee RGB Dies to me?

LloydXmas250
11-16-2010, 9:25 PM
I'm new to reloading and I might just be ignorant toward this but I can't figure out what the RGB dies are about. I see there's just two dies, but anytime I watch people reload on youtube or read there's almost always 3 dies. At Bass Pro all I see are 3 or 4 die sets. So what is the purpose of these? Can just the two do everything you need or is something else required? I'm interested in buying my .223 dies tomorrow at Bass Pro. They have the 3 die set for $24. Should I get that or look into this RGB? Thanks.

Flyin Brian
11-16-2010, 10:48 PM
RGB just stands for "Really Great Buy" and it's just a Lee gimmick. I love Lee but some of their promotion stuff is kind of idiotic. The RGB comes with a sizing die and a bullet seating die, but you will probably want the "Lee factory crimp die" or a rifle charging die, which is where the 3 or 4 dies comes in. Some people don't crimp but I do and I have had great results.

If you are loading for bolt action, one rifle only, look at getting the collet die set. They neck size only and will be more accurate in the long run, but you will still need a full length sizing die if you get new brass or pick some up at the range.

gunboat
11-16-2010, 10:57 PM
In years past almost all dies were 2 die sets -- The sizing die also decapped and sized the neck to the proper diameter -- The seating die seated the bullet and crimped the case.
Three die pistol and straight case rifle dies came along the extra die being a expanding die.
Four die sets came along after that, the fourth die being a crimper.
All these combinations can vary by maker of the die sets -
Two die sets have and can load as precise a reload as any.
my ha-penny

bohoki
11-16-2010, 11:15 PM
ive used them in 223 and 308 and ive found no need for crimping as my bullets seat nice and tight