PDA

View Full Version : Recommend database books

dwtt
11-11-2010, 4:44 AM
I need to learn about databases on a network but I'm not a computer software person. I'm better with solid state physics and transistors, but something is coming down the pipeline at work where I will need to know how to use SQL and write simple applications. My only software background is Fortran and C++ programming in college, so I'm not a real programmer, just good enough to get by with simple tasks.

So, can anyone recommend good books for a beginner to learn about SQL, business objects, and data mining? I remember relational database management was a big rage 10 years or so ago, but does that refer to logical relation between different databases or does it refer to the relationship between data types in a database? Right now I don't know enough to know what to learn, so any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

Olav
11-11-2010, 5:36 AM
There are a lot of resources on the web, you don't need a book really.

Librarian
11-11-2010, 2:52 PM
Actually the RDB article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relational_database) at Wikipedia is pretty good, but 'telegraphic' - very light on explanations.

Chris Date (C J Date) is the leading RDB practitioner/theoretician; he worked with Codd at IBM. Bunch of his books on Amazon - pick recent ones.

Any of the 'introduction to SQL' books would help. But SQL comes in manufacturer-specific 'dialects', so knowing which database system will be chosen would narrow the field.

Then, there are all the manufacturer and language-specific functions to embed your SQL in programs ...

ldivinag
11-11-2010, 9:19 PM
download and install MYSQL.

then buy this guy's book:
http://www.sitepoint.com/books/sql1/

JDay
11-12-2010, 12:18 AM
download and install MYSQL.

then buy this guy's book:
http://www.sitepoint.com/books/sql1/

No need to buy a book for SQL, it is well documented on the net.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/

Librarian
11-12-2010, 9:27 AM