PDA

View Full Version : Can an FFL import an off list gun?

hill billy
11-08-2010, 8:53 AM
Can a dealer import an off list gun and have it sit on their books as long as it's not sold to a non exempt person? I am reasonably sure I can but I do very little dealing and want to be sure.

rromeo
11-08-2010, 8:58 AM
Are you asking if dealers can sell off list guns to exempt individuals? Yes.

hill billy
11-08-2010, 8:59 AM
More or less.

yzernie
11-08-2010, 11:34 AM
An FFL may import off-roster handguns but, as you know it must be sold to a roster exempt person. If you choose, you could keep it on your books indefinately.

CSACANNONEER
11-08-2010, 12:03 PM
I was told by a local FFL that the DOJ told him that he could order and transfer off roster handguns to himself.

spencerhut
11-08-2010, 12:17 PM
I'm new to this, but I thought I read when an FFL shunts down all the guns (including off list) can be transferred to the FFL. No roster, no 1 in 30 days. I'll let you know in about 30 years when I shut my business down. :chris:

halifax
11-08-2010, 12:38 PM
I was told by a local FFL that the DOJ told him that he could order and transfer off roster handguns to himself.

How would that work in the DROS software if the FFL was going to make the off-roster handgun his own?

CSACANNONEER
11-08-2010, 12:40 PM
How would that work in the DROS software if the FFL was going to make the off-roster handgun his own?

That's a good question. We didn't go that deeply into it.

dachan
11-08-2010, 4:50 PM

Can anyone verify this? It would be great if true, but doubtful. No where in the PC does it state FFL's, dealers, etc. are exempt from the roster for their private collection. Right now the best we can do is hold it in inventory indefintely, but use it whenever we want, since we are allowed to "test" inventory.

CA FFL's don't use the DROS software when transfering a firearm from inventory to their private collection. Just an Op-law submission for handguns, nothing for long guns.

halifax