PDA

View Full Version : Is this typical of 91/30 accuracy?

rojocorsa
10-31-2010, 3:47 PM
Part of it could be me as well. I shot this from supported prone at 100 yds using PPU 182gr FMJBT. The crown on my rifle is more square than it is round. :p

The total size of the paper is 196 inches squared. It's 14"x14" roughly... The sight on my Mosin likes to shoot it to the left (haven't corrected that yet). I was using 6 o'clock hold.

http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/6602/vintovkalkl002.jpg

BayAreaShooter
10-31-2010, 3:51 PM
IMO you should be able to get better accuracy out of a mosin, but im new to the mosin game. I have been able to get 3-4 of 5 in the black at 100 yards but I have to hold at the bottom of the target with the front site all the way at the bottom of the rear posts. I am sure a Mosin expert will chime in soon.

rojocorsa
10-31-2010, 3:55 PM
I have more book knowledge than field knowledge, so I wanted second opinions. I'm sure that because Mosins come in all sorts of conditions, it's probably kinda hard to judge them by an objective benchmark.

Though, I suspect I might actually flinch a little when I shoot it. How can I fix that.

BayAreaShooter
10-31-2010, 4:07 PM
I know more about flinch while shooting pistols than rifles but in the pistol world it consists of a lot of dry firing or .22's. The only advice I can give you is the slowly consistently pull the trigger and let the gun surprise you when it goes off.

jamesob
10-31-2010, 4:11 PM
unless the barrel is shot out, it's all you.

mosinnagantm9130
10-31-2010, 4:49 PM
In my experience, an "average" 91/30 should be capable of 3-4 MOA, that is, 3-4" groups at 100 yards. I'd try it benchrested, that should give you a better idea of the accuracy.

Mosins are also ammo picky, it might not shoot well with 182 grn, but it might with 150 grn, and things like that. In addition to testing it from the bench, you could try different types of ammo. Odds are that 91/30 could get much better accuracy.