PDA

View Full Version : Legality and 03 clarification please.

VegasND
10-30-2010, 9:41 PM
I've got a couple of questions I think I know the answers to but I'll seek input here. Please let me know if I'm wrong or if there's something I'm not understanding. Remember that I'm a Nevada resident.

First: I bought 2 pistols today and one of them is C&R. But, since we were doing the 4473 and background check anyway, the FFL put them together and didn't do a C&R sale. He says I don't have to put it in my bound book -- I seem to recall that ALL C&R acquisitions while I'm licensed have to go in the book. Who's right?

Secondly, if a CA resident wants to buy a C&R rifle from me I can hand it to them after we trade licenses whether we're in CA or not.

BUT, a pistol is different: if we're inside CA I have to transfer it to them at an 01 FFL. If we're outside CA I can just give it to them after we trade licenses. Is there more?

I hope I've got this figured out, your explanations and clarifications would be appreciated.

mdouglas1980
10-30-2010, 9:45 PM
If the rifle is less than 50 years old it has to be transferred through a dealer.
Example: I just bought a Rasheed carbine from a fellow calgunner, it is not 50 years old, but is listed on the Federal C&R list. So it is a C&R but not Cash and Carry in CA.

so the rifle had to be drosed at an FFL and I have a C&R and a COE so I can take it home with me right then.

Flintlock Tom
10-30-2010, 11:02 PM
First: I bought 2 pistols today and one of them is C&R. But, since we were doing the 4473 and background check anyway, the FFL put them together and didn't do a C&R sale. He says I don't have to put it in my bound book -- I seem to recall that ALL C&R acquisitions while I'm licensed have to go in the book. Who's right?
Yes, it must go in your bound book. For the reason you stated.

Mssr. Eleganté
10-31-2010, 2:12 AM