PDA

View Full Version : My CCW Application Experience

skroeker
10-30-2010, 9:48 AM
Hello, My name is SaraMae. I'm new to CalGuns. I wanted to share my experience in applying for my CCW permit - which was just yesterday.

Here is a little history first. I am a 28 year old women and have been open carrying throughout San Diego. I'm only 120 pounds.

In the past, I had a bad experience while in traffic. A male biker followed me through town and pulled up beside me, telling me to pull over because he claimed I damaged his bike. I cracked my window and told him I won't pull over and that he should just call the police. At the next stop light he began assaulting my car violently attempting to get in. He was screaming at me to get out of the vehicle. I was crying and scared for my life because I knew it wouldn't be long before this 230 pound man could get inside. I estimated he was that big because the boot marks on my car were about 14 inches and he was just plain big. Through the tears I was screaming at him to get away from me. I thought he was trying to kill me. So, I immediately ran a red light, did a U turn to start heading towards the police department - anything to get away from him before he could break into my car. I saw an officer and honked my horn and flashed my lights to get his attention. The police officer got out and I jumped out to trembling in fear and crying my eyes out. The biker had gone. He was no where to be found.

After receiving training by attending a Front Site hand gun course and getting repeated training from my husband who is a Marine Corps marksmanship instructor, I felt comfortable and aware enough to open carry at the mall, the coffee shop, Home Depot - basically anywhere that is lawful to carry. I haven't encountered any problems by doing this.