PDA

View Full Version : New to real firearms

bluebird
10-29-2010, 9:31 PM
I am going to turn 18 in a week and I am looking for a place in NorCal (preferably near Sac/Davis area) that I can take some kind of gun safety class and rent a rifle. Since I'm totally new in real firearms I would like to ask a few questions:

1. Do I need to obtain some kind of license before I can rent a rifle?

2. I heard that some ranges do not sell rifle ammo to anyone under 21 because they feel uncomfortable. Is that true?

3. Do I need someone over 21 to accompany with me?

I used to play airsoft and I played a paintball game half a year ago. I understand handling a real firearm is totally different and safety is very important. I hope you can guide me through the steps so that I can become a more mature person while also enjoying shooting guns. Thanks a lot =)

bjl333
10-29-2010, 9:54 PM
Welcome to Calguns !!!

Joe
10-29-2010, 10:08 PM
Welcome to calguns.

I have to make my girlfriend a grilled cheese sandwich *queue cracking whip sound* but to answer your questions..

1. No license is necessary
2. That may be true but I never had a problem with that when I was under 21.
3. You will either need to bring someone else or your own gun or they likely wont rent to you. Ranges don't rent to people by themselves due to suicide I think.

Also, some ranges require you to be 21 to even use them at all. Most don't but some do. Search around calguns and you'll find friendly, good ranges in your area. Most ranges also don't typically stock many(if any) rifles for rental, they carry mostly handguns.

You cannot buy a handgun yet but can buy a rifle or shotgun once you are 18.

Welcome again! tons of great info here. Search around and join the sickness =D

HK4113
10-29-2010, 10:10 PM