PDA

View Full Version : My experience with the JARD trigger on an LR-308

captbilly
10-15-2010, 12:22 AM
I got and installed the JARD AR-10 trigger on my CMMG lower LR-308 about a week or so ago, and I thought someone might be interested in hearing about my experience with it. My background is in competitive target shooting with almost no hunting, so keep that in mind when considering what I write.

I have a Rock River trigger in my heavy barrel Rock River upper AR-15, and it is a huge improvement over the standard AR trigger but not quite what I was looking for on my long distance LR-308 project. First off the Rock River is a two stage and I just can't quite get used to a two stage for target shooting. Secondly the Rock River is about 5+ lbs pull and that is just too much for me if it isn't required by the rules (some competitions require 4.5 lbs if I remember correctly, it's been a while since I shot any event where trigger pull was measured). I picked the JARD because it had the lightest pull of any trigger that I could get my hands on in a reasonable length of time. The Geiselle can be had with similar pull but they are on back order at many places and they don't seem to make one specifically for the LR-308 platform. I have heard nothing but good things about the Geiselle, and will probably try one soon.