View Full Version : Is it kosher to sell a gun that you know is "not right?"

23 Blast
10-14-2010, 1:51 PM
Just want to get thoughts on whether it's okay to sell a gun which, although not unsafe or actually broken, is perhaps not 100% functional/reliable etc. For instance, selling an auto which jams a lot, or selling a revolver that's somewhat out of time.

10-14-2010, 1:51 PM
As long as its disclosed prior to the sale then I dont see why not.

10-14-2010, 1:53 PM
yep ful disclosure maybe the buyer know how to work around the problems

10-14-2010, 1:53 PM
I would disclose it and even do up a bill of sale with that disclosure and have the buyer sign off on it. I'm not an expert but if something should happen down the road, you are covered. Of course you'll take a hit on the sale price but doing the right thing here is best for both you and the buyer.

10-14-2010, 1:55 PM
I'd say it's not kosher to sell a gun with undisclosed issues. But just for converstaion's sake, what if the seller is 100% accurate in the sales ad. Is it on the buyer to ask about things not explicityly mentioned in the ad?

10-14-2010, 1:56 PM
If something's amiss no. If it's just the springs need replacing, like on a 1911 sometimes, who cares.

Exile Machine
10-14-2010, 2:02 PM
Full disclosure, yes it's kosher. Years ago I used to sell Waterford crystal on eBay. One time I discovered a piece that was chipped. I figured it was a loss. Instead of pitching it, I said, "what the heck," and listed it on eBay, with full disclosure including a macro photo detailing the chip. To my sheer amazement, it sold. Apparently there are those who can repair such things. That's probably even more true for malfunctioning guns.

10-14-2010, 2:02 PM
Don't worry about anything people say here. Just remember, the buyer knows where you live :hide:

10-14-2010, 2:04 PM
Sell it and bail!

10-14-2010, 2:04 PM