PDA

View Full Version : How I got my Colt Combat Commander in 9mm, and how you too can obtain unobtanium

Cyc Wid It
10-12-2010, 10:21 PM
Warning: A bit of a long read, but it goes over everything from start to finish

I had to have one. So I checked the Marketplace and waited... and waited. Finally, I gave up actively looking and put it on the back burner. Then, I saw the thread on Valkyrie Arms (07 FFL in Milpitas) and their willingness to do single shot exemptions for off-roster pistols. The gears started turning, and I started looking again, expanding my search to Gunbroker and other gun forums.

Finally I found one on Gunbroker that was going for less than $1200. I contacted the seller, hoping that he would be willing to ship to CA. He was, although he was unsure about the single shot exemption to the roster. I was able to put him in touch directly with Tim @ Valkyrie Arms who talked to the seller over the phone explaining the legalities of the process and reassuring the seller. He was able to ship the gun in standard configuration since Valkyrie Arms is an 07 FFL (they can modify after, so the gun did not have to be converted prior).

I bought the gun, and it was shipped to Valkyrie Arms for the transfer. They made a substitute barrel of the required length and mag lock for single shot status. With this in place, I did the usual paperwork and my 10 days began.

Fast forward 10 days and I went to complete my pickup. After taking possession of the gun, I proceeded to return the gun to its original status. Look! It's really true:

http://i834.photobucket.com/albums/zz269/cycwidit/Colt9mmSlide.jpg

I can't wait to get some good range time in with this gun, and hopefully customize it tastefully somewhere down the line. They're done with the parts for the HK45 and I've seen them in person (I believe there's at least 1 already in 10 day jail). He's getting close on Gen 4 Glocks and should have other models soon too.