PDA

View Full Version : I'm 19 years old and I want to own a handgun

San FranPsycho
10-05-2010, 4:11 PM
I'm not really all that familiar with handguns or handgun laws in CA...

My question is...what would you guys think be the best way to LEGALLY purchase a handgun being under 21? So far it seems my best bet is to buy one from a private seller because this isn't illegal under federal (not sure about CA?) law?

Thanks

p.s. I already own shotguns and rifles I'm just curious as to how to buy a HANDGUN

boxbro
10-05-2010, 4:14 PM
I am not a lawyer but I believe you have to get an HSC (http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/hscsg.pdf) and you'd need your mother/father/grandmother/grandfather transfer it to you.

jtmkinsd
10-05-2010, 4:22 PM
I'm not really all that familiar with handguns or handgun laws in CA...

My question is...what would you guys think be the best way to LEGALLY purchase a handgun being under 21? So far it seems my best bet is to buy one from a private seller because this isn't illegal under federal (not sure about CA?) law?

Thanks

21 for handguns...unless it's given to you by your dad/grandfather (intrafamilial transfer), or you're law enforcement. I have to tell Navy Seals they can't buy a handgun...so stupid.

Droc101
10-05-2010, 4:24 PM
move to another state? remember that you fam can not legally buy a handgun with the intent to give it to you

CAL.BAR
10-05-2010, 4:26 PM
21 for handguns...unless it's given to you by your dad/grandfather (intrafamilial transfer), or you're law enforcement. I have to tell Navy Seals they can't buy a handgun...so stupid.

Yeah, and you also have to tell them they can't legally buy, drink or possess alcohol, or run for president. Not the end of the world.

OP - get a rifle and start practicing. Have your parents get a pistol and take you to the range.

nguystep
10-05-2010, 4:41 PM
I'm pretty much in the same boat as OP, but I guess I know a little more.