PDA

View Full Version : T-Mobile G2


Captain Jack
09-29-2010, 7:35 AM
I just pre-ordered mine. Just wondering if anyone else here is getting this phone.

http://g2.t-mobile.com/

JDay
09-29-2010, 6:02 PM
Nice, it has data speeds much faster than Sprints WiMAX (fake 4g) network, and you know there will be no restrictions on tethering. The screen is too small for me though.

http://www.intomobile.com/2010/09/29/t-mobile-g2-unboxing-video/

http://static.intomobile.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/thumb_550_g2-speed-test-e1285800810437.jpg

h8mOZaI4hac

ETA: Just noticed that it has the same size screen and the Nexus 1. I just might get one of these next month after I check one out.

Nick1236
09-30-2010, 8:12 AM
I own a G1 now, I may consider getting this one when my contract is up in Feb, maybe ealrier if they give me the full upgrade discount. Let me know how it performs when you get yours.

Bystander
09-30-2010, 9:43 AM
Nice, it has data speeds much faster than Sprints WiMAX (fake 4g) network, and you know there will be no restrictions on tethering. The screen is too small for me though.

http://www.intomobile.com/2010/09/29/t-mobile-g2-unboxing-video/

http://static.intomobile.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/thumb_550_g2-speed-test-e1285800810437.jpg

h8mOZaI4hac

ETA: Just noticed that it has the same size screen and the Nexus 1. I just might get one of these next month after I check one out.

Do you mean that we can tether G2 to a laptop and use it like a modem?

cgseanp1
09-30-2010, 10:37 AM
I always thought the mytouch was supposed to be the G2

Nick1236
09-30-2010, 10:53 AM
Do you mean that we can tether G2 to a laptop and use it like a modem?

I hope so

Captain Jack
09-30-2010, 11:03 AM
I own a G1 now, I may consider getting this one when my contract is up in Feb, maybe ealrier if they give me the full upgrade discount. Let me know how it performs when you get yours.

My G2 is already on it's way to my house and should be delivered today. I'll put it through its paces and keep you posted.

Do you mean that we can tether G2 to a laptop and use it like a modem?

T-Mobile says it's not gonna support tethering out of the box just yet, but there are apps that allow you to make it work. I believe PdaNet is one of the options.

jdewolf
09-30-2010, 12:48 PM
I'm still stuck with a G1. Minus speed and the pitiful internal storage it's still a great phone. Of course the keyboard hates me after I dropped it a few weeks ago :(

The only thing I dislike about the G2 is the physical keyboard. Maybe I'm just spoiled by the G1's... I can't use soft keys for the life of me.

I'm a little torn...

Nick1236
09-30-2010, 1:16 PM
I'm still stuck with a G1. Minus speed and the pitiful internal storage it's still a great phone. Of course the keyboard hates me after I dropped it a few weeks ago :(

The only thing I dislike about the G2 is the physical keyboard. Maybe I'm just spoiled by the G1's... I can't use soft keys for the life of me.

I'm a little torn...

Thats the only thing I really love about the G1 is the physical keyboard. The G2 keyboard looks like crap :(

jdewolf
09-30-2010, 3:24 PM
Thats the only thing I really love about the G1 is the physical keyboard. The G2 keyboard looks like crap :(

Yep yep. I was interested reading about the rumors of the G2. When the specs came out I wasn't blown away but it's a nice step up from a G1. I was going to pre-order it... then I saw the keyboard and had to think about it. I still need to upgrade... but that damn keyboard sucks!

doughboy334
09-30-2010, 5:40 PM
I went from wanting a Nexus One to a Droid Incredible to a Droid X to a Droid 2 to now this :( Good thing this one is on my network already though (Tmo)! And it runs vanilla Froyo!

JDay
10-01-2010, 1:21 AM
Do you mean that we can tether G2 to a laptop and use it like a modem?

Yes. T-Mobile does not charge extra for that.

madcount
10-01-2010, 9:41 PM
Held one in the T-Mo store and it is heavy. I heard it has a swype virtual keyboard as well.

jdewolf
10-05-2010, 3:23 AM
I'm still on the fence. It doesn't help that Tmo is texting me "pre-order now!"

I almost bought one tonight... :7:

Captain Jack
10-05-2010, 11:59 AM
I got mine and so far it's great to me. I'll post up benchmark results in a bit.

bombadillo
10-05-2010, 12:30 PM
Nice, it has data speeds much faster than Sprints WiMAX (fake 4g) network.

Not up here in the REAL NorCal, sprint is by far the fastest network and my EVO is amazing!! :cool:

JDay
10-05-2010, 12:39 PM
Not up here in the REAL NorCal, sprint is by far the fastest network and my EVO is amazing!! :cool:

Sprints WiMAX network is a joke, it's not even real 4G.

Captain Jack
10-06-2010, 5:44 PM
Okay so here are some screen caps of some benchmarks I ran. Don't mind the "X-Ray Specs" ads.

Quadrant

http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/5741/quadrantg2.png

Linpack

http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/706/linpackg2.png

Neocore

http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/4470/neocoreg2.png

bombadillo
10-06-2010, 8:14 PM
How does the EVO compare in there BTW??? Not trying to troll, just honestly wondering.

Nick1236
10-06-2010, 9:05 PM
Hell yeAh I'm liking those results. I hope they will let me upgrade sooner then feb. I may be picking one up for Christmas when they hopefully go on sale or come with more free stuff.

dmax11
10-06-2010, 9:08 PM
I want a G2, i have a G1 (had it from launch and yes its still working after hundreds of rom flashes and the danger SPL)

i'm currently holding out however because the hacking community has discovered that HTC/T-mobile has done something new with them and even though they are getting them rooted and flashing them they magically revert themselves back to stock.

until it confirmed they can be flashed and stay that way i'm waiting and am highly considering buying a nexus one instead.

as for t-mob's network. i don't doubt that the new HDSPA+ or whatever it is called is fast but my experience with T-mobile is if your not in a city your screwed and even if your in a city you will often loose 3G just by entering a building. their network is not the greatest and if i had to rely on my phone for work it would be a problem i would not want to have but as its just a personal phone and i get good coverage where i live for the most part i'm happy with them for the monthy price i pay half what i would elsewhere or even with them if i upgrade and get forced onto a new plan. it's one of the reasons why i'm seriously considering buying a used or new nexus for 300-400 dollars

Captain Jack
10-07-2010, 6:36 AM
How does the EVO compare in there BTW??? Not trying to troll, just honestly wondering.

According to this link, the EVO 4G averages about 1200-1300 after the froyo update.

http://www.sprintdroids.com/forum/htc-evo-4g-general-discussions/609-quadrent-scores-froyo-update.html

Looks like the "weak" 800Mhz Scorpion processor is beating all these "fast" 1Ghz Snapdragon processors. Haha.

doughboy334
10-07-2010, 7:25 AM
engadget review
http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/06/t-mobile-g2-review/