PDA

View Full Version : Building my very first AR - help

Sikhawk
09-26-2010, 7:02 PM
hey guys im new to calguns and I have decided to make my own ar-15 instead of breaking my bank for my a premade california legal one. I need feedback on OLL's- which brands are the best (after being broken in) in terms of reliability and accuracy. Right now im eyeing a Stag upper, and a spike's tactical lower. Any feedback on spike's? is it good/bad, does it have any problems? I was also thinking about a stag upper and lower combo. Im going to be using it to shoot with friends, not really the competition shooting type. Any suggestions on any other upper/lower brands? What about Rock River? Any help would greatly be appreciated

stphnman20
09-26-2010, 7:07 PM
A Stag upper and Spike lower is a good combo. For lowers, there all pretty much the same as far as mil spec. But there are a few that are not mil spec.

For the upper, it's pretty much on you. Barrel length, chrome line, etc..

oh and Welcome to the fourm.

Sikhawk
09-26-2010, 7:13 PM
thank you, i was wondering, what is the difference between 1/9 and 1/7 or 1/8? i have a vague understanding but dont know much about it

stphnman20
09-26-2010, 7:16 PM
here you go
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=345587&highlight=rifle+twist

Exposed
09-26-2010, 7:33 PM