View Full Version : I'm a Noob • East Bay shooting areas?

09-25-2010, 1:26 PM
Hi everyone. Long time lurker, recent Cal resident and just signed up last night. Since I'm not allowed to ask in the SFBay forum yet, I'll try here:

I bought a nice Winchester M97 12 Gauge at a gun show a few weeks back. I've been dying to go out and shoot it but I'm having some problems locating a good location.

The only range I've been to around the area is the Livermore/Pleasanton range, which is nice, but it seems the only shotgun facility it has is trap, and I'm really not looking to do that. I really just want to shoot a box or rounds of to see how it behaves, etc…

Preferably, is there *any* open land near the East Bay (maybe Livermore or Tracy) that I can just drive to and plink around with a paper target as long as I clean up after myself? I found one thread about a road in Davis that has an area that's legal, but it's almost 2 hours away.

If there is no such land close, does anyone know of an outdoor range where I can just use a normal booth and shoot shot for a little while?

09-25-2010, 2:03 PM
Sorry, but I don't have an answer to that. Anywhere I know is about an hour away from Sacramento, on hwy50.

But I noticed you said that there is somewhere in Davis where I can do that. Do you know where that is?

09-25-2010, 2:09 PM
Check out United Sportsmen in Concord at http://www.unitedsportsmen.com/

4700 Evora Rd
Concord, CA 94520-1002
(925) 676-1963

By far the most extensive range in the area and with the most active members in the East Bay.

09-25-2010, 2:35 PM
Your best bet will be Chabot gun club in Castro Valley -

09-25-2010, 3:50 PM
Thank you both for the links to the ranges. I hadn't heard about those 2 before and they loom great.

But no dice on any non-range land legal to shoot in the area?

09-25-2010, 3:54 PM
Not in the area - There's BLM land but again that's several hours out - We're just too close to the metro area -

09-25-2010, 3:54 PM