PDA

View Full Version : Daniel Defense Rear Sight Questions

doubledgarage
09-23-2010, 7:33 PM
I have a Daniel Defense DDM4 and I have some questions regarding the rear sights. I'm completely new with rifles so please bear with me if I'm asking stupid questions!

1.) What do the circled red numbers represent? Do they represent like 1 inch, 2 inch, etc... or just arbitrary number to keep track of your adjustment?

http://www.doubledgarage.com/pictures/IMG_8621_2.jpg

2.) One of my buddies (in the Marines) is going to help me sight in my rifle because I was just struggling with mine. He's not too familiar with my rear sight because it only adjusts left & right. I think he's used to these sights where they go left, right, up, down.

http://www.riflegear.com/images/Product/large/628.jpg

He's been recommending that I pick something up like the above (left/right/up/down). Is this necessary? If so, I rather pick one up that is flip-up as I like to get an EOTech later (and have rear iron sights as backup). Do they make a flip-up that can be adjusted left/right/up/down? Or perhaps something like this.

http://www.riflegear.com/images/Product/large/630.jpg

Any additional comments would be greatly appreciated!

Linus
09-23-2010, 7:43 PM
I'm pretty sure they are increments of 100yds, so 2 would be 200yds, 3 for 300yds, 4 fo 400 and so on. Assuming you sight it in correctly and its calibrated right, just like a carry handle.

doubledgarage
09-23-2010, 7:44 PM
I'm pretty sure they are increments of 100yds, so 2 would be 200yds, 3 for 300yds, 4 fo 400 and so on. Assuming you sight it in correctly and its calibrated right, just like a carry handle.

When you rotate that wheel, it moves the sight left/right. Isn't 100 yards left/right pretty extreme? And thanks!

tomd1584
09-23-2010, 7:51 PM

No.

one click left or right on a 16" barrel for the A1 adjustment is approx 3/8" @ 25 meters.