PDA

View Full Version : Can someone help with my iphone 2g?


Daesu
09-16-2010, 1:56 PM
So i just got service with tmobile and i still have my old iphone 2g,what steps can i take to unlock it for use on tmobile? My brother tried to unlock it but he ended up restoring it to factory OS and now it says i must register it with a new sim card is there any way around this? If nothing works i'd like to at least use it as an itouch. :D TIA guys.

Ricky-Ray
09-16-2010, 3:08 PM
have you tried putting a new sim card in there and see what happens? What do you mean by he rebooted it? turned it off and back on? Plugged it into itunes and restored it back to factory OS?

Daesu
09-16-2010, 3:22 PM
Sorry i meant back to factory os,and i went to ATT but they said they wouldnt give me a new sim even if i bought it,that i would need a 2 year agreement.Which i think they said so i would give them money which i wont do again.

Ricky-Ray
09-16-2010, 3:31 PM
Got any friends on AT&T that you could borrow their SIM card for a few mins? Try the smaller mom and pop type shop's for cel phones, they will usually sell you the SIM cards

Daesu
09-16-2010, 3:38 PM
I switched BECAUSE my friends all have tmobile,i went to a small place and the guy was charging 50 bucks to unlock it and the whole bit. Im looking for more of a home remedy on a budget though :)

Ricky-Ray
09-16-2010, 4:20 PM
A quick google search came up with these

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7436

http://www.ithinkdiff.com/jailbreak-and-unlock-iphone-2g-3g-and-3gs-with-os-3-1-3-using-sn0wbreeze-v1-3/

http://www.bizzntech.com/2010/02/10/how-to-unlock-iphone-2g-with-os-3-1-3

http://iphone.unlock.no/

KRS Juan
09-16-2010, 4:21 PM
Your gonna need RedSn0w (that's a zero not an o) or BlackRa1n (that's a 1 not an i) depending on your firmware. Google "hacktivate iPhone 2g" for step by step instructions

Daesu
09-16-2010, 4:29 PM
RedSn0w worked thanks guys for your help!