PDA

View Full Version : Hunting mag capacity

barbasol
09-12-2010, 9:54 AM
I'm new to hunting and just took my hunter safety course. I know my shotgun must be limited to 3 rds but what about my rifle? I thought I remember a 5 round limit on magazine capacity but I've heard conflicting stories. I would be using my ar15 for varmint and predators. Any help is appreciated.

professorhard
09-12-2010, 9:55 AM
No limit on rifle magazine capacity, just make sure it is a legal configuration (non-AW)

yoteassasin
09-12-2010, 10:02 AM
No limit on rifle magazine capacity, just make sure it is a legal configuration (non-AW)
EXACTLY! THE green pants FUD STOPS here!

ImYourPusherMan
09-12-2010, 10:07 AM
Also no limit on the shotgun capacity when hunting varmints or predators. 3 round limits are for the birds.

Then again, if you dont pop your coyote within 3 rounds with the shotgun, you need to practice. LOL

Just make sure you use some #4 buckshot in 3" (outside of condor territory) or Dead Coyote in 3" (inside condor territory) and a full or even tighter choke.

barbasol
09-12-2010, 10:33 AM
Thanks guys! Speaking of fud, the instructor at the safety class said a loaded shotgun included shells strapped to the butt stock holder when the book clearly stated loaded means a shell in the chamber. Also he said you can't have a loaded pistol mag in a case separate from your locked up pistol in the car which I don't think is accurate. This was after his argument that atvs don't ruin the environment and actually helped the desert turtle by knocking brush down so their food would be a closer height.

Not bashing atvs or anything. This guy was just a nut! Haha

barbasol
09-12-2010, 10:35 AM
Oh yeah, gonna get me a yote this weekend!!

DiRTY DOG
09-12-2010, 10:42 AM
Also no limit on the shotgun capacity when hunting varmints or predators. 3 round limits are for the birds. 3 shells applies to small game too! That includes tree squirrels and all rabbits. Here are the shotgun restrictions: