PDA

View Full Version : Ar Buffer Tube Problem


Crawfish141
09-10-2010, 5:53 PM
I have an Ar built. The problem I'm encountering however is that the buffer tube keeps working itself loose. This happens even with thread locker. Any suggestions?

I'm pretty sure that it need to be properly staked, are there any gunsmiths in the Chico area that'll do that?

NiteQwill
09-10-2010, 6:06 PM
Don't use thread locker. Of course it will work its way loose.

You have to stake it!

Use this, easy to find at Home Depot/Lowes.

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQDQVSGJ_KYzZFxII0wEms4WePkfa3Bg 6y3HKhleJdhXCrAUAs&t=1&usg=__zLINQ9TjbdPpmF18J7iYVNoQ_V4=

Purple K
09-10-2010, 6:07 PM
Staking a buffer tube is not normally needed. The castle nut acts as a jam nut to keep the threads bound up. Do you have the proper wrench?

killshot44
09-10-2010, 6:10 PM
Just use a punch and hammer to tighten the castle-nut......
Done this with all my ARs, never loosens even w/out staking 'em.

neal0124
09-10-2010, 6:10 PM
Did you torque it down properly with a spanner wrench? I havn't got around to staking mine and it's never worked loose. I cranked it down good with the proper wrench.

NiteQwill
09-10-2010, 6:14 PM
You guys saying "staking is not necessary" have to be joking, right? :rolleyes:

If you plan on using the rifle, stake it. It takes 2 seconds out of your entire life. Do it right the first time.

neal0124
09-10-2010, 6:20 PM
You guys saying "staking is not necessary" have to be joking, right? :rolleyes:

If you plan on using the rifle, stake it. It takes 2 seconds out of your entire life. Do it right the first time.

Been planning on it, just want to change out the tube first.

Purple K
09-10-2010, 6:26 PM
I have three AR's that get shot regularly (.223, 6.8spc, .450 bm) and have not had to stake any of them. Why damage the threads unnecessarily!

NiteQwill
09-10-2010, 6:27 PM
I have three AR's that get shot regularly (.223, 6.8spc, .450 bm) and have not had to stake any of them. Why damage the threads unnecessarily!

Why would you damage the threads by staking properly? It has nothing to do with the threads.

cheenky
09-10-2010, 7:18 PM
where would you stake to keep the castle nut from loosening?

NiteQwill
09-10-2010, 7:19 PM
where would you stake to keep the castle nut from loosening?

Like this:
http://www.ar15barrels.com/tech/castle-nut-stake.jpg

UserM4
09-10-2010, 7:24 PM
lol

tileguy
09-10-2010, 8:05 PM
i have 4 ars 1 in 7.62 and they have never backed off. i must be lucky

cheenky
09-10-2010, 8:11 PM
Like this:


ahhh.. never noticed that! learned something today thanks! good to know in case my castle nut does back off (maybe 1.5k rounds w/o a problem)

MaHoTex
09-10-2010, 8:13 PM
Excuse my ignorance, but what is staking? I looked at the picture from NiteQwill and do not see anything obvious! Is it the square indent opposite the castle part of the nut?
What tool do you use to smack that in there? Hammer and what kind of punch?

jaustin612
09-10-2010, 8:39 PM
He used a hammer and a small punch. It pushed one part of metal into the other. I used a bit of loctite and an armorers wrench, and its good to go.

1911su16b870
09-10-2010, 9:58 PM
A staked nut is a happy nut :)

Toten Kopf
09-11-2010, 9:40 AM
Fixed It...Use it or loose it! Oh, nice picture NiteQwill.

http://www.gunco.net/gallery/data/500/castle-nut-stake1.jpg

hnoppenberger
09-11-2010, 11:44 AM
If you tighten stuff RIGHT it ain't never coming off by itself.
all these firearms types must never wrench on cars- if you tighten stuff like you've got a pair it will be GTG.
-you think you need to stake crankshaft pulleys or wheel hubs on big rigs?? wanna bet what has more stress on it?

ar15barrels
09-11-2010, 7:05 PM
If you tighten stuff RIGHT it ain't never coming off by itself.
all these firearms types must never wrench on cars- if you tighten stuff like you've got a pair it will be GTG.
-you think you need to stake crankshaft pulleys or wheel hubs on big rigs?? wanna bet what has more stress on it?

Yeah, those castle nuts with cotter pins and lock plates on front axles are over-rated.
Who would use those? :rolleyes:

killshot44
09-11-2010, 9:19 PM
Yeah, those castle nuts with cotter pins and lock plates on front axles are over-rated.
Who would use those? :rolleyes:

Well, to be fair, AR Castlenuts aren't subjected to centrifugal or rotational forces...;)

stitchnicklas
09-11-2010, 9:49 PM
i never staked my ar and the castle nut has never backed off,i used a ar wrench to tighten the nut.

stake/or not stake...your gun your choice.

ar15barrels
09-11-2010, 9:52 PM
Well, to be fair

War is not fair.
May the best cheater win.

mhho
09-12-2010, 6:28 AM
War is not fair.
May the best cheater win.

Did you get that from Sun Tzu or did you make it up? That is hilarious!

ar15barrels
09-12-2010, 7:22 AM
Did you get that from Sun Tzu or did you make it up? That is hilarious!

I made it up myself.

97F1504RAD
09-12-2010, 12:37 PM
So how do you stake the plate when the castle nut does not have the indentation to allow it to be staked?

ojisan
09-12-2010, 1:11 PM
So how do you stake the plate when the castle nut does not have the indentation to allow it to be staked?

Same as staking bearings into engine cases.
Use a center point punch, at a very slight angle from one piece towards the other.
Create enough of a "dent" so that the two pieces are distorted and material from both pieces is smashed together in the dent.
It doesn't have to be deep, just enough to make the "mix".
Properly done, this is strong enough that the stake may have to be drilled out before the pieces can be taken apart.

97F1504RAD
09-12-2010, 1:42 PM
Same as staking bearings into engine cases.
Use a center point punch, at a very slight angle from one piece towards the other.
Create enough of a "dent" so that the two pieces are distorted and material from both pieces is smashed together in the dent.
It doesn't have to be deep, just enough to make the "mix".
Properly done, this is strong enough that the stake may have to be drilled out before the pieces can be taken apart.

Cool, Thanks