PDA

View Full Version : 1911 and several no primer strikes

tools2teach
09-05-2010, 9:59 PM
Ok....I hope to get some insight as to what may be the cause of my problem. I just took out my new Kimber 1911 Custom II to the range to today and shot approx 150rd of my reloads through her. I would say out of 1-30, I had no primer strikes on. I would take ammo primer with no strikes through the magazine and there were no issues with the ammo, it went bang.

1) This happening with all 3 Kimber Mags
2) My reloads consist of Wolf primers, Titegroup, and Berry Bullets

Possible cause??? Firing Pin, Firing pin spring?

I have a few 1911s and never had this problem.

ir0nclash86
09-05-2010, 10:04 PM
Im no expert but I would assume your problem would be the wolf primers. Wolf is notorious for hard primers. You could have received a few extra hard primers. Pick up some regular factory ammo and shoot it. If you have no issues with the factory then I would say its the primers.

damon1272
09-05-2010, 10:06 PM
Could be a hard primers, or primer depth set too far. Try shooting it with factory ammo to rule out the pistol.

damon1272
09-05-2010, 10:07 PM
You now have your answer in stereo!

lehn20
09-05-2010, 10:10 PM
Possible cause = Kimber
Solution = Sell and buy Springfield

tools2teach
09-05-2010, 10:16 PM
Possibly primer depth, but there are no signs of a strike, not even a little indentation. What strikes me is I would reload the ammo in to the magazine it would go off. There no consistency.

nn3453
09-05-2010, 10:26 PM
As others have said, make sure primers are seated below flush.

sevensix2x51
09-05-2010, 10:36 PM
i would try factory loads, 45 acp is $32/100rd at walmart. not too bad, defenitely worth it to break in your kimber. they do run better after a few hundred rounds.. if it still happens with factory loads, then come back!

himurax13
09-05-2010, 10:39 PM