PDA

View Full Version : M&P9 or M&P9L - Does the longslide make a real difference?

IceMan711
09-04-2010, 10:07 AM
I was wondering if the extra inch of slide on the M&P 9L would have a noticeable performance gain over the standard M&P. Is it all about sight radius, or will it actually help with managing recoil and enable faster follow shots? I'm trying to decide if the longslide will be worth the roster hassle.

Average Joe American
09-04-2010, 10:25 AM
I am no expert but I think some things may be universal...

longer sight radius will almost always be better not worse.

More mass will probably absorb some recoil and or muzzle flip.

A longer barrel will usually increase velocity which in turn results in a flatter trajectory compared to a shorter barreled handgun shot at the exact same distance with the exact same ammo. Plus faster bullets translate to more damage in the wound tract of the target.

I am no expert and I could be wrong? But it sounds fair enough to me.

Blackhawk556
09-04-2010, 11:39 AM
I thought the m&p9L was not on roster?

BamBam-31
09-04-2010, 11:43 AM
Dunno specifically about the M&PL, but I can tell you about the G17 vs. the G34.

The longer slide gives you:

--A longer sight radius, which improves practical accuracy for most shooters.

--More weight in the nose, especially when adding a tungsten guide rod. (Adding said rod in a G17 doesn't make much of a noticeable difference.) More weight in the nose gives you better recoil absorption and is therefore quicker back on target.