PDA

View Full Version : Pistol Grip Alternative?

AxonGap
05-11-2006, 3:45 PM
Since the fixed mag portion of the DOJ memo is a lightning rod issue perhaps we should start giving more alternatives to the pistol grip dilemma. Threw this idea together pretty quick so the scale might be a bit off. I'm a noob at posting so critique away! Note the the thumb rest.

See Revision 2 if you think it looks too much like a thumbhole stock

***Another revision 3b is detached from the stock. 3a would be integrated.

blacklisted
05-11-2006, 3:46 PM
It's a thumbhole stock.

magmaster
05-11-2006, 3:48 PM
Can't have a thumbhole stock either unfortunately

AxonGap
05-11-2006, 3:55 PM
The hole is basically for looks and not integral to the stock's function. The thumb rest would be for primary grip. Also, would'nt the holes location above the imaginary lame (I mean line) be within the parameters? If you take a closer look you would have to have an enormous hand to achieve that grip. Modify away!

kenc9
05-11-2006, 4:02 PM
If it were a thumb socket and not a thumb hole would work. Just something to grip on to, I am sure if things stay the same these will start coming out.

-ken

adamsreeftank
05-11-2006, 4:04 PM
The hole is basically for looks and not integral to the stock's function. The thumb rest would be for primary grip. Also, would'nt the holes location above the imaginary lame (I mean line) be within the parameters? If you take a closer look you would have to have an enormous hand to achieve that grip. Modify away!

Why take a chance for looks. YOUR hand doesn't need to be able to put the thumb in. The DOJ has an agent with REALLY long fingers they use for that kind of test. Just like their agent with REALLY strong hands who can twist off a nut that has been locktighted in place. (I think their names are Long-Fingers McGee and Iron-Hands Jones, and they used to be in the circus.)

AxonGap
05-11-2006, 4:08 PM