PDA

View Full Version : Sig p226 vs CZ 75 vs PT-92

SFgiants105
09-01-2010, 12:03 AM
I am new to handguns and am looking for a good 9mm for my first gun.
So far, the guns that pertain to my criteria are the p226, cz75 sp-01, and the Taurus PT-92 (beretta clone).

I have only shot the Sig, and from what I know Beretta 92s are as accurate with even a smoother trigger. But I have heard from owners that they are not as reliable as the Taurus. I've shot Glocks, 1911's, XDMs, and a USP (it was compact, tho) and cant take the plastic trigger.

Factors to consider:

1. Trigger pull
2. DA/SA hammer with decock (must have external hammer, so no Glocks)
3. Full metal construction (no composite)
4. Double stack mag
5. Cost and Reliability

If it weren't for cost, I would consider the Sig hands down. But if there is a gun that matches the Sig in all those fields and is cheaper, that would be awesome.

Any help is much appreciated.

jermzzzzzzz
09-01-2010, 12:20 AM
YOU HEARD WRONG! Beretta's are way more reliable than Taurus. If you get a Sig try to an older West German one. The DA trigger on the Sig is way smoother than the Beretta and the decocker is easier to reach without having to readjust your grip. The Beretta is still a good gun, carried it for six years in the AF with no problems but I still prefer a Sig.

elsolo
09-01-2010, 12:50 AM
Have you at least held each of these choices to see how they feel in your hand?

Oldnoob
09-01-2010, 1:29 AM
If price is part of factors, just get the CZ and get over with it. Why gamble with Taurus' QC (though I hear nothing but good on PT92/100 series, can't say the same with Taurus' other products) when you have CZ as a choice?

Full steel, great ego, more than a fair price and outstanding QC. Whatever trigger system you prefer, CZ75 have you covered. DA/SA, decocker, SAO... choose your poison.

Though, all that, if price isn't a factor, I'll choose my 226s over my CZ75B SA.