PDA

View Full Version : Beretta 92 problem

quig
08-31-2010, 2:35 PM
In an attempt to learn a new firearm, I dusted off my dad's old 92f, which he used as a duty weapon before they went to larger calibers. He hasn't cared for his firearms as he should being close to the beach. We found rust on the barrel and slide.

I decided to refinish it, as I figured that this would be a great opportunity to learn the inner workings of the firearm as I disassembled and reassembled. Durabake to the frame and blue the barrel and slide.

The problem came when I took it to the range for a function test. I am a novice when it comes to Double action for I only have experience with revolvers, 1911's, and XD's. The 92 shot accurately, but there were a few rounds in every magazine in which the hammer wouldn't stay back and would return to double action.

No jams, no FTF, FTE's. Just this one problem. I wasn't able to pinpoint when it would happen. It seemed to be random. It was somewhere in the middle of the mag, the slide always locked back after the final round was fired. I made sure my grip was good and I was not limp wristing.

Have other 92 shooters encounter this problem. This gun will probably sit in my pop's safe, so this is not a huge problem, more for my curiosity. Maybe there is an easy fix or explanation.

Overall, it was a good experience. Now I have to choose another of his safe queens to "learn".

Thanks

Pred@tor
08-31-2010, 2:41 PM
Might need a new hammer spring I replaced mine on my 92FS with a wolf springs service pack. I had bought this pistol shortly after I turned 21. Mine is a 1990 Italian made 92FS and during a CCW class my locking block broke so I replaced the block and springs. Maybe a new hammer spring would help?

https://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=0/sid=881/schematicsdetail/92_96_Stock_Combat its part 38 on there

sevensix2x51
08-31-2010, 2:59 PM