PDA

View Full Version : Making Grips

scoot64
08-18-2010, 2:21 AM
I just cleared an Avocado tree out of my backyard and thinking about maybe making some handgun grips out of some of the wood. I've never tried this before anyone have any suggestions?

nagorb
08-18-2010, 3:36 AM
What type of grips, most can be made using a template from your old grips.

9mmepiphany
08-18-2010, 8:57 AM
make sure to let the wood dry out

Alan Block
08-18-2010, 10:54 AM
look for a burl section of wood. Essentially a wood 'wart' or 'tumer' it is a lump in the trunk or branch with confused grain. These make the prettiest items. Saw out the section you want so it is more than 2 times thick then saw this piece in half so that you have matching grain on each side. Paint some wax or paint on the end grain so that it wont dry too fast and split. Keep in a dry place like closet stored so that air can circulate around it. Wait until seasoned then finish your grips.

scoot64
08-18-2010, 5:12 PM
Thanks for the advice keep it coming? As far grips i was thinking for my Ruger Blackhawk and my brothers Springfield 1911 Mil-Spec. I was planning on using the old ones for templates.

9mmepiphany
08-18-2010, 5:38 PM
the 1911 panels should be relatively easy...the blackhawk quite a bit harder, because you need to fit on 2 planes

RANGER295
08-18-2010, 5:50 PM
1911 grips are very easy to make if you have the right equipment. I make them out of exotic hardwoods. The other will be more difficult but not out of the question. Follow the above advice about drying the wood before you cut it. I would let it dry for over a year. Where abouts do you live?

kurac
08-18-2010, 9:45 PM
Well, you are going to have to let the wood dry for at least a couple of years, make sure you start off with a piece at least 2' long and wax the ends or it will try to fast and leave you with firewood.

scoot64
08-19-2010, 2:28 AM
Where abouts do you live?

Venice area

RANGER295
08-19-2010, 7:21 AM
Venice area