PDA

View Full Version : Canon 50mm F1.8 vs F1.4??

evidens83
08-17-2010, 9:08 PM
Planning on my next lens purchase. As a newbie recreational shooter will the F1.8 suffice or should I really save up the extra couple hundred dollars for the F1.4? Comparing photos online I wouldnt mind going with the F1.8 but I dont want to regret it down the road especially if the F1.4 is that much better. Keep in mind I'm just a DSLR noob so I have a lot to learn. What say you?

Ricky-Ray
08-17-2010, 11:00 PM
All depends on what you want to use the lens for. If it's going to be general photography then the 1.8 should be fine. If you plan on shooting in alot of low light situation's or want the narrowest depth of field then save the money up and get the 1.4.

domokun
08-18-2010, 12:41 AM
Just remember the following:

1. The f/1.8 uses a slower and older DC drive micro-motor instead of the faster micro-USM motor for running the autofocus. As a result the f/1.8 lens doesn't have full time manual focus and you'll have to rely on flipping the AF/M tab to switch in order to be able to manually focus the lens whereas the f/1.4 lens will let you turn the focus ring on the lens (full-time manual focus) without having to flip the AF/M switch.

2. The f/1.8 uses a 5-blade aperture whereas the f/1.4 an 8-blade aperture. What this means is the bokeh aka background blur in a photo is more pleasing to the eye taken when with an 8-blade aperture when compared to one that has been taken with a 5-blade aperture.

You can see the differences below:

http://photo.net/equipment/canon/ef50/coke-cans-14.jpg
50mm f/1.4 Lens @f/2.0 aperture
"Check the out of focus background behind the cans. The bokeh produced by f1.4 has a very nice blend of grey and pink colors."

http://photo.net/equipment/canon/ef50/coke-cans-18.jpg
50mm f/1.8 Lens @f/2.0 aperture
"The blending of the colors in the out of focus background produced by the f1.8 is more harsh."

Here's a couple more samples: