PDA

View Full Version : The history of your C&R Rifle, can you track it?

NagantHunter
05-03-2006, 5:30 PM
I posted this in another thread, and it got kinda lost as it was off topic.

I'm new to the whole C&R thing and was wondering - does anyone have any resources for tracking the history of our old C&R's? I'm particularly interested in tracking down the history of my old Mosin Nagant 91/30. Did the USSR keep any records on the disposition and issuance of weapons?:confused:

Any info on other makes would be welcome as well, as I intend to collect as many of them as I can! :D

NH

BigMac
05-03-2006, 7:55 PM
Here is a brief idea of how soviet weapons were treated.

You, take this rifle.

You, take this ammunition. When he gets killed you pick up the rifle.

You can however learn alot about where a rifle may have have gone, or been captured by the differnt stampings on it. Also where it was made or converted.

If you really want to learn more I'd spend some quality time at surplusrifle.com

I like my 20's stamped

fal_762x51
05-03-2006, 11:54 PM
I would think that all Mosin saw action one time or another. Whether it be the Russo-Jap War, The Revolution, WW1, Russo-Finnish War (1 and 2), WWII, then any later conflict. A good number of M44 with WWII dates probably saw action Berlin.

These are not like the K31 with the data sheets or Yugo SKSs, damn.

NeoWeird
05-04-2006, 12:02 AM
I asked a similar question a while ago about CMP weapons and if there were any records kept as to where shipments went, what branches were issued what manufacture runs, etc. The general concensus was that there really is no order to it. Back then they didn't have computers to log stuff, and "they had more important things to do than keep a paper trail; like win a war".