PDA

View Full Version : INTRA-FAMILIAL HANDGUN TRANSACTION

Jakenmidas
08-16-2010, 10:11 AM
I appreciate and enjoy all of the information on CalGuns. Unfortunately, since I'm new at it, I'm having some difficulty navigating the system. My question is in regards to the transfer of a gun to a family member. Here's the details:

A new gun was purchased from a dealer in Colorado by my father.
The gun is NOT on the California roster (HK .45).
On my last visit to Colorado, my Father presented the gun to me as a GIFT.
I brought the gun to California, declaring the transportation in my checked bags on the airplane.
What do I need to do to LEGALLY own the gun as a resident of Los Angeles California?
Do I simply fill out the "Firearm Ownership Record" form posted on the DOJ website?
I've received conflicting advice and I while I want to legally register the gun in my name, I don't want to risk it being confiscated because it's not on the CA DOJ roster.
Please advise.
Thank you!

tommyid1
08-16-2010, 10:40 AM
I thought you had to have it transferee through an ffl

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

ke6guj
08-16-2010, 10:56 AM
ouch, looks like both you and your father violated federal law. it is a violation for him, a non-licensee, to transfer a firearm to a non-licensee of a different state. It is also a crime for you, a non-licensee, to acquire a firearm in another state and bring it back to your home state (with limited exemptions, which "Intra-family" is not one of them).

jtmkinsd
08-16-2010, 12:33 PM
You're fine, fill out the interfamily transfer form and enclose $19 dollars and mail it off. You did nothing wrong, that's exactly how interfamily transfers work.

ke6guj
08-16-2010, 1:11 PM