PDA

View Full Version : Can a non CA resident do a PPT

ih8ca
08-13-2010, 9:26 AM
I have an office in Ca and store a few guns down here. I am a resident of WA. One of my firends went shooting with me for the first time and had a blast. I think I created a monster. He is asking me if he can buy one of my pistols. I am wondering if it is legal for a non Ca resident to do a PPT?

halifax
08-13-2010, 9:37 AM
I don't think there is a law against it, BUT the DROS software won't accept out-of-state IDs.

If it is on the roster, hand deliver the firearm to the dealer and process it as a dealer sale.

rromeo
08-13-2010, 9:37 AM
I believe it would have to go through as an FFL transfer. In order for a $35 PPT, both parties must be CA residents. Any pistol you sell him must be on the CA safe handgun roster.

CSACANNONEER
08-13-2010, 9:43 AM
Federal law would require you to go through a FFL in your home state. There are limited exceptions to this but, not for California residents on either side of a sale.

Exposed
08-13-2010, 11:23 AM
Yup, no CA I'd presented by both parties during ppt = no ppt.

dieselpower
08-13-2010, 12:05 PM
IICR...by BATFE ruling, firearms transfers must take place in the buyers State of residency.

littlejake
08-13-2010, 1:27 PM
I infer from the OP that the buyer is a CA resident. The seller is not as he has a WA ID.

I know for sure the DROS software will not accept an out of state ID on either side of a PPT.

I'm just not sure it is against the law.

Seems it could be done as an FFL transfer if one can find a dealer who will accept a HG over-the-counter from an out of state resident. The roster would apply; and fees are not regulated... could cost as much as $150 in fees.

kmca
08-13-2010, 1:48 PM
I don't really see the difference between sending your gun to a California FFL through the mail or handing it to them in person.

Droc101
08-13-2010, 2:12 PM