PDA

View Full Version : greetings from an SF fng

teeth
08-12-2010, 8:43 AM
Hey all-

I stumbled upon this forum trying to educate myself about responsible gun operation and ownership in this great state. I am a total gun noob but after a little lurking, I quickly recognized the large wealth of info contained here. So, thanks in advance for everyone's investment! Hopefully one day I will be able to contribute on a meaningful level.

I have many hobbies (motorcycling, cycling, camping, reading the internet for hours and hours since I'm currently unemployed..) and I am excited to be getting into a new one. I realize the value of the communities that surround different "scenes" and hope to support the businesses that share this view.

A couple questions out of the gate:

What are some independently owned bay area businesses that people suggest for training courses and retail sales?

Any solid wisdom you'd like to impart on a soon-to-be handgun owner?

thanks!

69Mach1
08-12-2010, 8:43 AM
Welcome to the forum teeth.

Droc101
08-12-2010, 9:06 AM
Welcome teeth,
There are many great resources out there for learning the basics of responsible ownership and handling.
Places to shoot:
reedsindoorrange.com
www.losaltosrodandgunclub.com/
www.sunnyvalegunclub.com
Places to buy:
I have to put in a plug for my dads shop :) Ralston Rods tackle and archery in scotts valley, order online at galleryofguns.com or see what we have available on location) 831-440-0700

Once again, Welcome and good luck. :)

Wicked Pete
08-12-2010, 9:19 AM
Welcome, there is a wealth of information in the many forums. Unlike some areas of the state, S.F. is not friendly to the gun owner. Good luck, hope to see you in some of the threads.

bsg
08-12-2010, 10:42 AM
welcome to the forum; i can't help you with the bay area.

Super Spy
08-12-2010, 11:02 AM