PDA

View Full Version : Hey Mac guys! Which Macbook should I get?

brassburnz
08-09-2010, 11:37 AM
I'm ready to buy a new Macbook but can't decide which one to get. I currently use a two year-old 13" Macbook Pro running an intel Core 2 Duo at 2 GHz with 2 gigs of ram. I am a teacher and the computer was purchased by my school and during the school year the students and I use it to surf the web, run LEGO Mindstorms NXT robotics programming, and other mundane programs like Microsoft Word and Powerpoint.

With the new Macbook, I will be getting into podcasting, vodcasting, and some video editing. I'll also be purchasing a 2TB external hard-drive to store the projects. (I have an iMac I use for video with iMovie and iDVD with a 1TB drive and that one is already full. Just home movies and such.)

I've pretty much decided on a 15" Macbook Pro, but I can't decide on the processor. I don't know anything about either the i5 or i7 processors other than what I've read on Apple's page. The difference between the Macbook Pro with the i5 and i7 processor is only $200 price isn't an issue.

Also, what about Applecare? I've never had any problems with any of my Macs over the years. If they did go down, it was well past the 2 year coverage period.

Thanks,

Casual_Shooter
08-09-2010, 11:46 AM
I don't know if it was ever fixed, but I read about issues with the i5/i7 MBP's.

More infohere on calguns (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=307473) and apple's discussion forum (http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2420192&start=300&tstart=0)

bak
08-09-2010, 12:16 PM
How about investing in maxing out ram and a solid state hard drive for the current laptop. For video ed buy a imac.

brassburnz
08-09-2010, 12:43 PM
Casual,