PDA

View Full Version : Wardens

Shoot-it
08-02-2010, 4:44 PM
Make sure to have written permission if on private property.I was hog hunting on a ranch and I got checked by 2 wardens.I had all the paper work.One was a liitle bit of a jerk he kept asking me if I shot anything like he was trying to trip me up or something.He even wanted to look at my knife to see if it was bloody.It was clean as can be I never used it.

He searched my back pack to and that was over the top I think.

All I can say the experience left a bad taste in my mouth.

spectr17
08-02-2010, 4:58 PM
Printable trespass permission slips. Print some, put them in a zip lock bag and stuff them in your pack and glove compartment, it can save you from a spendy ticket. It also shows your are a responsible hunter when you meet a rancher or farmer and ask for permission.

http://www.jesseshunting.com/permission-slip-1.pdf

LloydXmas250
08-02-2010, 6:46 PM
I'm not good with knowledge on laws but can they search your backpack without a warrant? Probably can, but it just pisses me off. It seems like they act like you're a criminal, not a hunter, and you just didn't get caught that time.

AAShooter
08-02-2010, 7:26 PM
I'm not good with knowledge on laws but can they search your backpack without a warrant? Probably can, but it just pisses me off. It seems like they act like you're a criminal, not a hunter, and you just didn't get caught that time.

Game Warden's have a broader power to inspect vehicles and bags, etc. than the average LEO.

Hunt
08-02-2010, 7:28 PM

I have heard Wardens have special "inspection" rights that exempt them from the 4th ammendment. At least that is what the hunter safety course instructor told us.

Shoot-it
08-02-2010, 7:31 PM
Thanks for understanding my point of view .
Maybe he was just doing his job but I was never treated like this before .To me they wanted to write me up real bad I don't know why but I had that feeling.