PDA

View Full Version : Shipping a gun to yourself from out of state

Twinsen
07-31-2010, 4:08 PM
Hi guys, I lived in Connecticut my entire life. As of this week, I'm a CA resident.

I want to ship my savage bolt to myself that is now in Connecticut. I bought the rifle just before I left to be my California gun, from an FFL. So it has been transferred to me and the feds and a state know I have it. Can I just UPS it to myself, or do I need to register the rifle and submit to a cavity search... etc etc in triplicate?

I've read both yes and no looking around. Figured asking would get a few answers for this specific question.

huck
07-31-2010, 5:03 PM
Great question. I'm interested in the answer.

If you were selling the gun to someone in CA, it would have to ship to an FFL. Transferring to a family member in CA, FFL. But shipping to yourself? I don't know.

Why don't you just bring it with you?

dustoff31
07-31-2010, 5:04 PM
Yes, you can ship it to yourself, via UPS or FEDEX. Check with them, they have rules about it can only be accepted at certain facilities and so forth.

CA does not require you to register long guns. Yet.

GunGeezer
07-31-2010, 5:29 PM
Yes, ALL the rules say that you can ship it to yourself; to your new home or to where you will be hunting, etc - TO YOU wherever you will be.

I have had issues w/ UPS and FedEx 800# "checking w/ them" and I know others that have also. On the other hand, I've read their rules online and follow them plus I carry a copy of their rules with me when I ship - I've had no issues at their offices, never had to pull out the rules. I've talked with the local employees of UPS and FedEx regarding shipping firearms, etc. I mentioned my calls to their 800#, they said, "don't call the 800# they have no idea what they are talking about and you will get a different answer each time you call" - I found that to be true. I'm no expert and not a lawyer, just for what it's worth.

Oceanbob
07-31-2010, 5:37 PM