View Full Version : Buying a piece of land for private shooting??

07-30-2010, 4:39 PM
I remember someone here mentioned this idea. Is it really feasible in ca? Have you or anyone you know done it? I live in nor cal, so Oregon land is also a consideration. Thanks

07-30-2010, 4:55 PM
It's not illegal to shoot on your own land given a few requirements. You might want to check out the 2A forum for more information.

07-30-2010, 4:56 PM
Great question. Even if I could afford 40 acres in San Diego county, on a hillside, in the sticks, with plenty of backstop, would it even be legal to shoot in the county? Or Riverside, or Imperial? I'm guessing no in San Diego at least, but really have no idea for sure.

07-30-2010, 4:58 PM
Buying land for your own enjoyment and shooting is absolutely feasable. I know a guy looking to sell his land he shoots on. I am a Real Estate agent in Nor Cal and can answer any questions you have.

Mr. Beretta
07-30-2010, 5:00 PM
I would call the Sheriff or PD who is the LE for the area. They will tell you a definite yes or no. Good Luck.

07-30-2010, 5:02 PM
Good Question!! I would think as long as this acreage is outside the city limits and there's probably some Code on being a distance from any public roadways.

07-30-2010, 5:24 PM
You most certainly can. Local codes and ordinances will vary, be sure to do your research before moving earth.

07-30-2010, 11:59 PM
Thanks all - looks like I need to do more research. Still want to hear some first-hand experience in this. Please let me know if you happen to know some stories or have looked into this yourself.

07-31-2010, 12:16 AM
it seems cheaper to just to hit up a shooting range.

07-31-2010, 12:30 AM