PDA

View Full Version : Need Help re Barrels

Brawt
07-29-2010, 6:19 PM
Hello guys,

Im a newbie here from San Diego.

Im gonna build an upper assembly for my AR and there are few questions i would like to be enlighten berfore i proceed, especially our laws here.

Anyway, here they are:

What are the legal barrel lengths of m4s or Ar-15s that are legal here in CA?

Is it that simple to just buy a legal-barrel from a website than have it ship here in my place?

Any inputs would be appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Fjold
07-29-2010, 7:04 PM
Rifle barrels must be 16" long. You can do this by buying a 16" or longer barrel or a shorter barrel with a permanently mounted muzzle device that makes the assembly 16" or longer.

Barrels can be shipped and received without any special precautions.

reggie 00
07-29-2010, 7:15 PM
You can have the whole complete Upper sent direct to you.

Some distributors have "company policy" not to ship to California, but that is because...... well i cant think of an nice way to say it so i wont. There are some of the better distributors here on Cal guns and you should find what you need with them, or stick with the Bigger named ones: Midway, Brownells, etc.

And speaking of Barrels, which one are you going to get?

If you are going to stay traditional, do what i didnt and look into the .223 Wylde.

Brawt
07-29-2010, 7:32 PM
You can have the whole complete Upper sent direct to you.

Some distributors have "company policy" not to ship to California, but that is because...... well i cant think of an nice way to say it so i wont. There are some of the better distributors here on Cal guns and you should find what you need with them, or stick with the Bigger named ones: Midway, Brownells, etc.

And speaking of Barrels, which one are you going to get?

If you are going to stay traditional, do what i didnt and look into the .223 Wylde.

Thanks for the quick inputs.