PDA

View Full Version : 20moa base, now Leupold QRW rings problems???

johnrunner89
07-27-2010, 2:38 PM
Alright so I just mounted a 20moa base on my rifle. Got a new scope with 80 moa of adjustment and am going to do a 100yd zero. It's my first time with an optic with target knobs so I'm new with everything. I am curious about my new base though. So since its a 20moa base, my understanding is that it tilts my scope downward/point the barrel up, right? And after I get my 100yd zero, I should be able to just use my standard 1/4 moa adjustments and magically get an extra 20moa of adjustment out of my optic for long range shooting?

m1match
07-27-2010, 4:29 PM
Yes that's right, since the base is tilted down, zeroing your scope will have a 100 yd zero 20 MOA lower leaving that much more of the scopes elevation range to adjust at longer ranges.

Fjold
07-27-2010, 4:45 PM
Alright so I just mounted a 20moa base on my rifle. Got a new scope with 80 moa of adjustment and am going to do a 100yd zero. It's my first time with an optic with target knobs so I'm new with everything. I am curious about my new base though. So since its a 20moa base, my understanding is that it tilts my scope downward/point the barrel up, right? And after I get my 100yd zero, I should be able to just use my standard 1/4 moa adjustments and magically get an extra 20moa of adjustment out of my optic for long range shooting?

The 20 MOA base will tilt your scope down which raises the point of impact. You will have to adjust your scope down to get it sighted in at 100 yards.

Let's say that with a 0 MOA base your scope centers exactly in the middle of your adjustment range at 100 yards. With the 20 MOA base you will have to adjust your scope 20 MOA down to get it zeroed at 100 yards. This will leave you with 60 MOA of upward adjustment in your scope to zero in for long range.

johnrunner89
07-27-2010, 7:41 PM